Caleb Rector House - home to Mosby Heritage Area Association
Atoka, known as Rector’s Cross Roads until the early 1890s, developed in the first half of the 19th century around the intersection of Atoka Road and the Ashby Gap Turnpike (Rt. 50), which linked Paris to Oldie and continued east to Alexandria.
The Caleb Rector House is the site where John S. Mosby and his Rangers were officially organized on June 10, 1863. Today the building serves as the headquarters of the Mosby Heritage Association. The town features a wide array of vernacular architecture styles from around 18300 to 1927.
The large stone spring house is an important artifact associated with the town’s history as an important transportation junction with an abundant supply of fresh spring water. Two mid-19th century log dwellings survive as examples of log construction in the Piedmont. Atoka also showcases an elaborate Victorian-era residence constructed in 1893.
The crossroads village of Atoka is a small time-capsule from the 19th and early 20th centuries who’s buildings and setting recall an era before interstates and planned communities, enhanced by an aura of Mosby and his men who frequented the area during the Civil War and J.E.B Stuart who stopped here on his way to the battle of Gettysburg.